Traumatic damage to the brain and spinal cord constitutes some of the most devastating central nervous system (CNS) disorders. Our multidisciplinary team of investigators focuses on studies to advance diagnosis, treatment and repair of CNS damage.

This research group uses contemporary cellular, molecular, behavior and electrophysiological approaches to study the initiating and evolving mechanisms of pathogenesis, therapeutic targets to attenuate damage, and delayed interventions to expedite recovery and repair.

The faculty in the Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology, in collaboration with basic and clinical scientists from other academic units, are dedicated to studying ways to:

  • Enhance patient management through diagnostics
  • Improve overall outcomes after traumatic brain injury (TBI)
  • Lessen secondary insults
  • Promote regeneration
Raymond J. Colello, Ph.D.

Raymond J. Colello, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Raymond J. Colello, Ph.D.

Raymond J. Colello, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-2262

Email: raymond.colello@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Jeffrey L. Dupree, Ph.D.

Jeffrey L. Dupree, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Jeffrey L. Dupree, Ph.D.

Jeffrey L. Dupree, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-9536

Email: jeffrey.dupree@vcuhealth.org

Read More

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Kimberle M. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Kimberle M. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Kimberle M. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Kimberle M. Jacobs, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-827-2135

Email: kimberle.jacobs@vcuhealth.org

Read More

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Pamela E. Knapp, Ph.D.

Pamela E. Knapp, Ph.D.

Professor

Pamela E. Knapp, Ph.D.

Pamela E. Knapp, Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-628-7570

Email: pamela.knapp@vcuhealth.org

Read More

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Audrey D. Lafrenaye, Ph.D.

Audrey D. Lafrenaye, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Audrey D. Lafrenaye, Ph.D.

Audrey D. Lafrenaye, Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-0527

Email: audrey.lafrenaye@vcuhealth.org

Read More

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Yasuaki Ogino, M.D., Ph.D.

Yasuaki Ogino, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Yasuaki Ogino, M.D., Ph.D.

Yasuaki Ogino, M.D., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor

Department of Anatomy & Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-9535

Email: yasuaki.ogino@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Andrew K. Ottens, Ph.D.

Andrew K. Ottens, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Andrew K. Ottens, Ph.D.

Andrew K. Ottens, Ph.D.

Associate Professor

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology

Phone: 804-628-2972

Fax: 804-828-9477

Email: andrew.ottens@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

John T. Povlishock, PhD

John T. Povlishock, PhD

Professor and Chair

John T. Povlishock, PhD

John T. Povlishock, PhD

Professor and Chair

Anatomy and Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-9403

Email: john.povlishock@vcuhealth.org

Read More

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Dong Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Dong Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor

Dong Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Dong Sun, M.D., Ph.D.

Professor

Department of Anatomy and Neurobiology

Phone: 804-828-1318

Fax: 804-828-3276

Email: dong.sun@vcuhealth.org

View Faculty Expertise Profile

Ongoing Projects